About Us

Councils and Committees

The Federation’s representative Council and committees meet regularly in order to discuss the issues that are of most relevance and concern to members, with the aim of finding solutions that can benefit the entire industry.

Federation Council

The Federation Council is the policy making body of the Federation. Members of Council are elected through direct nominations from the Federation's four specialist sector committees and its seven Local Associations. The Federation Council determines the future strategy for the Federation and the operational details are then carried out through the sector committees.

The Council also nominates representatives to other outside bodies associated with the construction industry including the Construction Industry Training Board, the CBI and the Joint Council for the Building and Civil Engineering Industry (NI).

Current Membership

Area Name Company
President Ray Hutchinson Gilbert-Ash
Vice President John Tracey Tracey Brothers
Past President David Henry Henry Brothers
Treasurer Bryan Vaughan Vaughan Developments
  Rhona Quinn QMAC Construction
  Freddie Patterson Lagan Specialist Contracting Group
  Aidan Flynn FLYNN
  Eamonn Sweeney Northstone
  David Hamilton Martin & Hamilton
  Martin O'Kane Heron Brothers
  Keith Nixon Deane Public Works
  Eugene McKenna GEDA Construction
  David Magee Antrim Construction
  Mark Kelly Kelly Brothers
  Mark F Kelly Whitemountain
  Martin Lennon O'Hare & McGovern
  Alan Bill Graham Construction
  John Greig MSM Contracts

General Contractors Committee

The General Contractors Committee represents the interests of Federation members involved in general and commercial contracting in the private sector and in the delivery of public infrastructure such as schools, hospitals, and office accommodation.

This Committee liaises regularly with major government clients including the Department of Education, CPD Health Estates and the Central Procurement Directorate of the Department of Finance. These Liaison meetings involve discussion on procurement methods and workload programmes.

Current Membership

Name Company
Eamonn Sweeney (Chair) Northstone
Alan Bill Graham Construction
Freddie Patterson Lagan Specialist Contracting Group
Ciaran Teague McAleer & Teague
Ray Hutchinson Gilbert-Ash
Aidan Flynn FLYNN
John Greig MSM Contracts
Noel Mullan Heron Brothers
Gerard McClelland Ganson UK
Gareth Loye Mascott Construction (Europe)
Peter Maguire Tracey Brothers 
David Henry Henry Brothers
Colin McKee Moss Construction
Liam Murphy Glasgiven Contracts
Gerry Gray Felix O'Hare

Private Housing Committee

The Private Housing Committee represents the interest of Federation members involved in the construction of private houses. The Committee liaises regularly with government agencies and statutory undertakers and other bodies that directly affect the provision of private houses, including the local councils, Transport NI, NI Environment Agency, NI Water, NHBC, the Law Society and many others.

Current Membership

Name Company
David Magee (Chair) Antrim Construction
Barry Alcorn Boland Reilly Homes
Andrew Dunlop Dunlop Homes
Bryan Vaughan Vaughan Developments 
Conor Mulligan Lagan Homes 
Dominic Lavery Farrans Construction
Conor Lavery Charles Lavery & Sons
Noel Young P Young & Sons
Trevor Kennedy Hagan Homes
Archi Rowan Carvill Developments
Declan McKendry Dixons Contractors
Ryan Boyle Braidwater
Paul McCann T Valley Construction
Paul O'Rourke Lotus Homes

Civil Engineering Committee

The Civil Engineering Committee represents the interests of Federation members involved in civil engineering works. The Committee liaises regularly with Transport NI, Translink, NI Water, Rivers Agency, the Central Procurement Directorate and the Strategic Investment Board through the Civil Engineering Consultative Committee.

Current Committee Membership

Name Column
Leo Martin (Chair) Graham Construction
Seamus Devlin McLaughlin & Harvey
Kevin Corley Farrans Construction
Dennis McGall DAWSON WAM
Gareth Telford Northstone
Martin Lennon O'Hare & McGovern
Mark F Kelly Whitemountain
Manus O'Kane Deane Public Works
Seamus Gillan BSG Civil Engineering
Ian Lowry Lowry Building & Civil Engineering
Eugene McKenna GEDA Construction
Patrick Harney Lagan Specialist Contracting Group
Ian Alexander William & Henry Alexander 

Social Housing Committee

The Social Housing Committee represents the interests of Federation members involved in the construction of social houses. The committee liaises regularly with the Housing Associations, Northern Ireland Housing Executive and the Department for Communities.

Current Membership

Name Column
Mark Kelly (Chair) Kelly Brothers
Mark Spence FLYNN
D J Dixon Dixons Contractors
Brian Fox Bann 
Rhona Quinn QMAC Construction
Damian Murray GEDA Construction
Ian Lowry Lowry Building & Civil Engineering
Kevin Watson Kevin Watson Group
Gerry McEvoy Mascott Construction (Europe)
Mark Gilmore EHA Group
Ruairi O'Boyle OB Construction
Conor Connolly Connolly & Fee
Marie Ferguson BW Homes & Construction
Connaire McGreevy CTS Projects


  • A&L Goodbody
  • BDO Northern Ireland
  • Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group
  • JP Corry
  • Willis Towers Watson