About Us

Meet the Team

Our well skilled and knowledgeable staff have a proven track record in helping the industry with their issues and concerns.

John Armstrong

Managing Director

John has held the position of Managing Director of the Construction Employers Federation since 2006. He joined the Construction Employers Federation in 1997 with responsibility for developing construction exports.  During that time he helped to develop business for Northern Irish construction companies in overseas markets.  Between 2014 and 2016, John chaired the Housing Supply Forum established by the Minister at the Department for Social Development. He is a Member of the NI Committee of the National House Building Council.

Contact: jarmstrong@cefni.co.uk

Jonathan Caughey

Federation Manager

With the Federation since 2005, Jonathan’s main areas of responsibility include the Construction Skills Register, Health and Safety within the industry and the management of Safe-T-Cert. 

Contact: jcaughey@cefni.co.uk


  • Jardine Lloyd Thompson Group
  • JP Corry
  • Northern Ireland Electricity Networks
  • Willis Towers Watson