Department for Infrastructure publishes major roads prioritisation programme

14 August 2023 Infrastructure Business Environment  

The Department for Infrastructure has published a prioritised list of major road schemes that will continue to be progressed.


The list of roads to be prioritised is outlined below. This includes the closing out of projects that have been recently constructed, as well as the continued development of schemes that have been identified as Executive Flagship projects and those included within City and Growth Deals. 

Road schemes to be prioritised:

A6 Randalstown/Castledawson
A6 Derry / Dungiven Phase 1
A5 Western Transport Corridor
A6 Derry / Dungiven Phase 2
Belfast Rapid Transit 2
Lagan Pedestrian & Cycle Bridge
Newry Southern Relief Road
A4 Enniskillen Southern Bypass
A29 Cookstown Bypass

Work will also continue on the A1 Junctions Phase 2 scheme, to finalise the Business Case and complete the preparation of the contract documents. In addition, current work streams will also be completed on York Street Interchange and A32 Cornamuck schemes. 

All other schemes will be paused and their place on a future major works programme will be informed by the Department’s emerging transport plans and any decision by a future Infrastructure Minister. 

Further details can be found in a FAQ document available to read here.


CEF's Patrons


Northern Ireland Electricity Networks PKF-FPM ABL Group Mills Selig